Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar
    Adiar County Schools logo hover effect
    Adair County Primary School Logo hover effect
    Adair County Elementary School Logo hover effect
    Adair County Middle School Logo hover effect
    Adair High School logo hover effect

ACES Academic Team WINS 1st Place in District!

ACES Academic Team

Participating in Written Composition on Tuesday, February 5, 2019, student members Bailey Coffey, Abbie Kemp, and Hannah Kotter also had to wait to learn their results until Saturday, February 9, 2019 at Campbellsville Elementary School. Advancing on to Regional competition in Written Competition is Hannah Kotter (1st place), Abbie Kemp (3rd place), and Bailey Coffey (4th place). Written Composition is coached by Mrs. Lisa Newell-Hare.

Adair County Elementary participated the District 53 Governor’s Cup events of Written Assessments and Quick Recall on Saturday, February 9th at Campbellsville Elementary School. Beginning at 9:10 a.m. cst, students from Adair, Campbellsville, Green, and Taylor Elementary Schools, began taking written assessments in the areas of Arts & Humanities, Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies. Several local students competed in the following categories:

Arts & Humanities:

Callie Compton , Sophie Eaton, Jolene Nuszbaum

Language Arts:

Kinzlee Akin, Kylieanne Akin, Trina Nguyen


Kinzlee Akin, Olivia Mantooth, Trina Nguyen


Addie Baker, Nia McNeiley, Hailey Thomas

Social Studies:

J.T. Loy, Nia McNeiley, Jay Whalen

Several Adair County Elementary School Students participated in Quick Recall, where they eventually placed third in District play. The following students are members of the Quick Recall Team:

Kinzlee Akin, Kylieanne Akin, Sophie Eaton, Abbie Kemp, Hannah Kotter, Olivia Mantooth, Trina Nguyen, Samantha Oliver, Sophey Smith, Hailey Thomas, Jay Whalen

The Adair County Elementary School Written Assessments and Quick Recall is coached by Mrs. Lisa Newell-Hare, 4th grade mathematics teacher.

The Awards Ceremony was held at the conclusion of all events on Saturday. Results include:

1st Place District Overall- Adair County Elementary School

1st Place FPS-Adair County Elementary School & Campbellsville (tied)

3rd Place Quick Recall-Adair County

1st Place Math Written Assessment-Kinzlee Akin

1st Place Language Arts Written Assessment- Kinzlee Akin

2nd Place Social Studies Written Assessment- Nia McNeiley

4th Place Social Studies Written Assessment- Jay Whalen

3rd Place Arts & Humanities Written Assessment- Callie Compton

1st Place Written Composition- Hannah Kotter

3rd Place Written Composition- Abbie Kemp

4th Place Written Composition- Bailey Coffey

The Future Problem Solving Team will advance to Regional Competition on Tuesday, February 26, 2019 and all students in who placed in the top five of individual awards will advance on the Regional Competition, on March 2, 2019 at Jamestown Elementary School.

Congratulations to all students who participated, coaches, and parents! Good luck at Regional Competition!


Back to School News      Print News Article
Adair County Schools1204 Greensburg Street
Columbia, KY 42728

View Map & Directions
Phone: 270-384-2476
Fax: 270-384-5841