Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar
    Adiar County Schools logo hover effect
    Adair County Primary School Logo hover effect
    Adair County Elementary School Logo hover effect
    Adair County Middle School Logo hover effect
    Adair High School logo hover effect


board members

From left: Student board member Lauren McQuaide, board member Mike Harris, board member Daniel Adams, board secretary Becky Bailey, Supt. Dr. Pamela Stephens, board chairwoman Lisa Burton, board attorney Coleman Hurt, board member Jonathan Gaskins, and board member Terry Harvey at Thursday’s meeting in the ACHS library.

A standing room only crowd at the Adair County High School library was treated to one of the more unique school board meetings in recent memory Thursday night.  Students led tours of the school during the open house immediately preceding the meeting, and more than 50 ACHS students spoke to the board about their high school experiences.

“We have a very special presentation that’s going to showcase all the different options we have available to us,” said student board member Lauren McQuaide to start the meeting.  McQuaide came up with the idea to host the meeting at ACHS and did a lot of the organizational legwork.  “Personally, as a student board member, I’ve gained a lot of confidence in myself.  I was intimidated at first, but I’ve learned to channel that.”


Student board member Lauren McQuaide opened Thursday’s meeting at ACHS by explaining her reason for requesting the location change and offering her thoughts on how the school has grown in her three years as a high school student.

After McQuaide’s opening remarks students from every club, organization, and sports team in the school spoke to the board about how their group of choice impacted their academic, social, and emotional growth.  Many students spoke about getting out of their comfort zones, being introduced to new groups of friends, learning teamwork, and gaining confidence. 

The whole process took just more than an hour and left the board and superintendent – as well as the large crowd in the audience – quite impressed.  “I think it’s very encouraging to see the excitement in these young people,” said Mike Harris, the board’s longest-tenured member.  “You all did just a fantastic job.  You should be proud.”  Board chairwoman Lisa Burton and interim Supt. Dr. Pamela Stephens also commended the students, and offered their thanks to McQuaide for her hard work and vision in orchestrating the presentation.

Students participating in the presentation Thursday were:

Paige Grider (student site base member)

Michaela Walker (nursing/HOSA)

Owen Grant (SADD)

Lauren Talley (band)

Charles Jones (AP Euro)

Olivia Bair (visual arts/NAHS)

Ben Hancock (academic team)

Emery Bosela (STEM club)

Chloe Hixson (cheerleading)

Alayna Willis (JR AM/PM dual credit)

Cole Schmidt (Indian U)

Emily Taylor (yearbook)

Trenton Upchurch (air space)

Ashley Morford (choir)

Jaiden Taylor (ACCEL High)

Blake Biggs (golf)

Wes Stone (track)

Austin Dipasquale (chess club)

C.J. Rodgers (football)

Katherine Curry (girls’ basketball)

Emily Farmer (tennis)

Michael Montgomery (baseball)

Kelsie Keltner (softball)

Kia Miller (volleyball)

Brandon Harp (Jr. Guard)

Hannah Scott (performing arts/drama)

Makayla Smith (FCA)

C.J. Bonifer (FBLA)

Savannah Roy (Ag/FFA)

Linsey Grant (BETA/NHS)

Cheyenne Waddle (peer tutor)

Sara Dunbar (pep club)

Grant Robertson (welding/Skills USA)

Katelyn Cowan (ambassadors)

Dylan Pendleton (Mandarin)

Hunter Cundiff (Spanish)

Kassi Roy (STARS)

Savannah Starks (All-State)

Kellie McGaha (FCCLA/FACS)

Mary McGuffin (EMT)

Natalie Taylor (AP chem)

Arabella Caldwell (AP English Language and Literature)

Baylor Giles (boys’ basketball)

Laura Curry (9th tech academy)

Dylan Bryant (LCATC)

Derek Burris (IT)

Chauncey Abston (community work transition)


Student tour guides Alayna Willis and Samuel Willis showed board member Terry Harvey around the building and explained the work that goes on inside the different classrooms at the school Thursday before the February district board meeting.




Back to School News      Print News Article
Adair County High School526 Indian Drive
Columbia, KY 42728

View Map & Directions
Phone: (270) 384-2751
Fax: (270) 384-6900